Choices -Day 1

Weight issues seem like they have always been a part of my life.  They began when I was around 10.  I noticed that I was bigger than the rest of my friends and one “friend” even made it clear that I could never shop in the 579 store. Remember this store from the 80’s? It was a juniors store that catered to sizes 5, 7, and 9. The sizes were probably more like 0, 3, and 5.

I was fat or at least I thought I was fat. (I wasn’t.) But a couple of years later, the dieting began. It seems like it has been a rollercoaster ride since.  I gain weight and then I lose weight. There are various factors that have contributed to my weight gain and sheer determination has helped me lose.

But my weight is up again. I have about 70 pounds to shed.Oh Lord!  I can dig in my heels and push through or I can let God guide me. Oh yes, I know that there is plenty of work that will be done on my part but I also need God’s help.

Today, I am beginning my 30 days of meditating on God’s word and allowing myself to hear what He has to say about health and weight loss. Does God care about our weight and health? Of course he does! If he cares about the sparrow, then surely he cares about us. ( Matthew 6:26)

Today and everyday is all about choices.

19-Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh that you would choose life that you and your descendants might live. 20-Choose to love the Lord your God and to obey Him and commit yourself to Him, for He is your life.”  Deuteronomy 30:19-20 

Today,  I will commit to making life choices for my health. For me that means eating within my calorie goals and working out. I subscribed to the Beachbody on Demand videos (No, I am not a coach.) and I’m going to do one of those today. Shaun T here I come!  By making life choices, I am honoring God with my body and I am showing my kids, especially my girls, how important it is to live a healthy life.

My Prayer

God please help me and those that need your strength in making “life” choices. We cannot do this on our own. We rely on your strength.  In Jesus name. Amen .

Please join me on this journey. I am reading The Weight Loss Scriptures: The 30-Day Daily Devotional for Weight Loss Motivation.

One thought on “Choices -Day 1

Leave a Comment

