Building My House -Day 2

Photo: Dennis Jarvis https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/Yesterday was a good eating day, but I didn’t get in the exercise that I have had on my to-do list for the last two days. Eating well can be hard for me at times but exercising is really hard. I seem to only be able to get in the exercise groove for short periods of time. The longest period has been a year consistently. I think that’s awesome, but I also know that I need to make exercising part of my lifestyle and not a short- term fix.

Today’s devotion is about building your house. God says that our body is our temple. It is where His spirit lives.  Wow! This really has me thinking about the things that I eat and my inconsistency with exercising.

“A wise woman builds her house. A foolish one tears it down with her own hands.”  Proverbs 14:1 

Immediately, I feel guilt when I read this scripture. But I know this is not why God has given this word to us. We have the ability to walk in God’s wisdom and build up our houses, which in this case is our bodies. We can choose to fill our bodies with wholesome food and exercise to keep our house running well. Or we can laze around on the couch and eat chips. (Lord help me, because He knows I love some chips and mindless TV.) Thinking back on yesterday’s devotion, I know that I have the choice to get up and get moving or to be lazy. No one is going to force me, not even God.

My Prayer                                                                                                                           Lord, I thank you for my life. I thank you for blessing me with a house that I can use to honor you. Let every piece of food that passes my lips be one that can build up my house and not tear it down. Please give me the desire to exercise my body daily.  In Jesus name. Amen.                                                                                                                              

Leave a Comment

