I Will Jump Over This Hurdle, I Will Not Be a Human Garbage Can-Day 3

8242285911_f0b5a2432d_zGod has called us to be good stewards over our bodies. But on days like today, there seem to be too many obstacles in my way in order to make that happen. After a beautiful too dang hot summer, today was my first day back to work. My plan was to get up at 5:30 and get a workout in before I went to work. But when my alarm went off on my iPhone, I just knew that wasn’t happening. I was too tired and pushed the snooze button way too many times. This was my first hurdle of the day.

I have to say that I have a great boss. He loves to treat us with goodies. The goodies range from gift cards to ice cold caffeinated drinks to keep us alert during meetings. Don’t judge, caffeine can be an educator’s best friend! Today the treat was food!  As soon as I walked into the office, I saw sausage biscuits , bacon biscuits, sweet jellies, and gallons of sugary orange juice.  The food didn’t stop there. There were also loads of glazed, hot, fresh, Krispy Kreme doughnuts  staring back at me. This was hurdle number two!

By the time I left our meeting, which lasted from 8 to 3, my brain was fully overloaded.  God is working on me and stress eating. And after that meeting, I really wanted to indulge in some good eating. I’m talking my favorite Mexican dinner with a tray full of fresh tortilla chips and salsa, a deep fried chimichanga  covered with cheese sauce, and a side of delicious refried beans. This was hurdle number three!

We all have hurdles in life, and the hurdles that I had today were minor in the big scheme of things. But I praise God that I serve a God that has given me to tools to overcome any hurdles that life might bring.

For by You (God), I can run against a troop (barrier; obstacle), By my God I can leap over a wall.    2 Samuel 22:30

God is so wonderful! I thank Him that this was His word for me this morning. Today is almost over. I still didn’t get in a workout but I will tomorrow. I didn’t eat any of the delicious treats and I stuck to strawberries and Honey Nut Cheerios I had with me. And I didn’t overdose on delicious mounds of chips and salsa.

I can run against any obstacle with God on my side and I’m just going to keep on running! You can too!

My Prayer                                                                                                                      Thank you God for your strength. Remind me to rely on you each day as I come against hurdles that would keep me from being a good steward over my body.  In Jesus name. Amen.

4 thoughts on “I Will Jump Over This Hurdle, I Will Not Be a Human Garbage Can-Day 3

Leave a Comment

