Sometimes I’m a Little Cocky-Day 4

There are days that I think that I have really got a hold of this whole weight loss thing. I’ve lost 13.5 pounds and I’m feeling better about myself. But then I have a series of days that I don’t work out and I eat frozen pizza and biscuits and gravy flavored chips for dinner. Yeah, I did that.

These are the times that I am quickly reminded that I am not there yet. Being cocky, gives us a false sense of comfort. Unfortunately, comfort can keep you stagnant.  But our goal in life and in our weight loss journey, is to keep moving forward.

I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of my goal. But one thing I do; Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.

Philippians 3:13

Paul knew that achieving greatness was about letting go of the old stuff. He knew that the old ways of life were worthless garbage. He knew that his old habits would never help him achieve his ultimate goal! My old habits include overeating and lazing on the couch. If I/we continue to hold on to old habits, I’ll/we’ll never change.

But have you noticed how good old habits feel? They are like that one pair of jeans that I can still fit and look cute in. They’re not a struggle to get into and they are so comfortable.  Philippians 3:13 shows us that it is necessary to break free of old comforts and work hard (strain) towards the goals that we are reaching for.

This. Is. So. Hard.  But we’ve got to suck it up!

Please join me as I read The Weight Loss Scriptures: The 30-Day Daily Devotional for Weight Loss Motivation.

My Prayer

Lord, please help me to let go of old habits and comforts that will not help me to reach my goals. Help me remember that in order to experience change, I must change. Today, I am letting go of the old thing and moving forward with the new. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Leave a Comment

