Day 6- Traveling Mercies

21939562156_1e819ff585_zMy heart sat heavy in my chest

Historic warnings were given little heed

Rushing waters drowned every doubt

Questions fired rapidly at God

Why were some spared and

I was not affected

My heart sat heavy in my chest

And the sun finally rose

The greed of life continued

A small prayer was offered

Lord please bless the people who are called into work today

Let your traveling mercies be with them

And my heart sat heavy in my chest

I am originally from the state of Virginia, but I’ve called South Carolina home for over 20 years now. From October 1st to October 6th some parts of the state of South Carolina received over 27 inches of rain. There were historic one-day rain totals of over 11 inches for some parts of the state. This massive amount of rain caused a lot of flooding.  It was a very scary time. All of my family and and our things survived the flood. There are those around me that were not so fortunate.  People questioned why they had been spared and others had not.

During that time, some non-essential businesses quickly re-opened. Streets were still flooded and many roads closed.  My Facebook status said,  “Lord please bless the people who are called into work today. Let your traveling mercies be with them.”

Today’s Challenge : Day 6- Write a poem of any length incorporating every word from your latest Facebook status. The entire 30 Day Poetry Challenge can be found here.

Leave a Comment

