Is That Really Me ?

Can’t Stand Me

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

12149900_2563d34a81_z

I am careful to make the words precise,
to make them do what they are supposed to do
But as I slip into more comfortable circles,
the words relax and begin to do what they want

 

I am eating a piece of PEE-can pie instead of pee-KAHN,
which I wash down with a soda,
while my northern husband drinks a pop

 

I laugh at the kids and yell,
“Good Lord, what are ya’ll doing tryin’ to catch those lighting bugs in that jug!”
 
Wow
Is that really me

I hear Mama from Mama’s Family instead of myself

It is my south
It owns my words when it wants to
Transforms my tongue into someone that dudden’t (I mean doesn’t),
quite sound like me

When I hear a recording of my voice, I can’t believe how southern I sound.
I am not sure why I am surprised. I was an Army brat that was born, grew up, and traveled to mostly southern states. I wouldn’t say I can’t stand the way I sound, but I even surprise myself as other southerners point out my southern drawl.
4 thoughts on “Is That Really Me ?

Leave a Comment

